PASSION

What is passion? According to Webster passion is, “a powerful feeling, love, great enthusiasm.” I believe writers need to feel a passion for writing.

Since I took that first writing class a few years ago my passion for writing has grown by leaps and bounds. It has built to the point where I can’t imagine not writing. That’s why I have two blogs going. That’s why I’m writing a novel. It’s a powerful feeling inside that keeps pushing me to write. I believe God has placed this passion in me. Who am I to ignore what God has given me?

When you have love and enthusiasm for what you are doing the activity does not feel like a chore. It’s fun to put words down on paper. That is not to say it’s always easy. Many times it isn’t. You stare at a blank screen or sheet of paper without a clue what you’ll write. But it’s the passion for writing that keeps you from saying “Forget it” and walking away.

My passion is especially strong after attending a good writers’ conference or experiencing an uplifting meeting with the writers’ group to which I belong.  I can be reading an informative book on the craft of writing and can’t wait to try out some of the ideas presented.

Passion is a strong emotion. There are people out there who feel a passion for something, but don’t do anything about it. They are afraid to pursue it. Then they are left wondering if they could have done something. It’s never too late to pursue your passion, no matter what it is.

As a writer, do you feel this passion for writing? How is your passion enhanced? When did you first begin feeling that passion growing in you? Please share your answers to these questions. I  and other writers would love to read about your experiences.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

