HOW DO YOU HANDLE REJECTIONS

Rejections – as writers we all get them, but we don’t have to like them. I hated getting that first rejection letter. I thought my writing was good. I couldn’t understand why it was rejected. However, now I look back on my writing then and I can see why it was rejected.

So I re-write and submit again to other magazines. The result?  Rejection.

Then at a recent writers’ conference I got some interesting information:

– Chicken Soup For The Soul was rejected 140 times before a publisher picked it up.

– C.S. Lewis had 800 rejections before he sold a single piece of writing.

If authors and publications like these received that many rejections what am I complaining about?  I’ve only been at this writing business for a few years. I still have a lot to learn. I know my writing is improving, but I have a ways to go.

Right now I am concentrating on finding the right market for those earlier short stories which I have re-written several times. I also am writing my novel slowly, making sure it’s the best writing I can do.

I know I have many, many more rejections in my future. But, with each rejection, I learn. I don’t like getting those letters or e-mails saying they can’t use my story and I will never like them, however, I won’t let them discourage me. Instead, they will be a challenge. I am more determined than ever to write a story and find the right magazine.  I am not giving up my dream of becoming a published author.

How do you handle rejections? We don’t all react the same. Will you share how you handled your first rejection?

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

