Making Decisions (The Shield of Faith)

“But if serving the Lord seems undesirable to you, then choose for yourselves this day whom you will serve, whether the gods your forefathers served beyond the River, or the gods of the Amorites, in whose land you are living. But as for me and my household, we will serve the Lord.”    Joshua 24:15

Several years ago I was out of work. I had interviewed for two jobs. The day came when I had to make a choice. That morning I woke up with a headache, a stomach doing flip-flops, and a feeling of nervousness all over. I prayed about the decision I had to make. Finally, I made my choice and called to accept one of the jobs. Immediately the headache and nerves went away and the rolling stomach settled down. Then I knew the choice I made was the one God wanted me to make, and He has shown His faithfulness to me in that job ever since.

The Israelites had crossed the Jordan and obtained possession of the land promised to them by God. There were still pagans living there and the Israelites had a choice to make. Were they going to stay true to the Lord or intermingle with the pagans and their gods? Each person had to make his/her own decision.

All of us have that same decision to make. Are we going to follow the idols of this world or are we going to follow God? If we choose God He will be faithful to us and we are to remain faithful to Him.

Of course, Satan doesn’t want that to happen and he will put all sorts of temptations in our path. That’s when we hold high the SHIELD OF FAITH showing the devil where our true allegience lies. With a stong faith in God miraculous and wonderful things happen. Through the SHIELD the Lord stands between us and anything the evil one manufactures. Then we can make the decisions God wants us to make.

When we have decisions to make, large or small, we must hang onto the SHIELD OF FAITH, remain faithful to God, and serve Him. By doing so we will experience His faithfulness to us.

APPLICATION: Are you struggling with a decision to make? Lay that choice before God. Listen to His guidance. Put your faith in Him. He will be faithful to you.

Categories: Devotionals | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

