Whom Shall I Fear? (The Sword of the Spirit)

armor-of-godThe Lord is my light and my salvation – whom shall I fear? The Lord is the stronghold of my life – of whom shall I be afraid? When evil men advance against me to devour my flesh, when my enemies and my foes attack me, they will stumble and fall. Though an army besiege me, my heart will not fear; though war break out against me, even then will I be confident. Psalm 27:1-3

There were many times this past winter when I prayed to God while driving to work. My hands gripped the steering wheel as I confronted very icy roads. Through this feeling of fear I experienced God’s presence. Though I still needed to keep close attention to my driving I knew God would get me to my destination.

David expressed his confidence in God through today’s verse. I’m sure he felt anxiety when facing armies in war or the evil around him, but he also had an over-riding assurance that God would take care of him.

THE SWORD OF THE SPIRIT can provide that assurance. The more we know the promises of God recorded in Scripture, the more our confidence will grow.

While driving this winter I could easily have given in to my fear and just refused to go to work. If I had done that I would have been fired and I would not have gone anywhere most of the season. David also could have given in to his fears, but then he would not have become a great king.

Knowing and believing what’s written in the Bible gives us the powerful weapon in the form of THE SWORD OF THE SPIRIT to use against Satan. The devil likes to pull verses out of context to use for his advantage. By brandishing THE SWORD (our knowledge of Scripture) we won’t be fooled by his tricky deceptions.

We can have confidence in God’s power and protection. He has equipped us with a mighty SWORD. Know how to use it effectively and rely on it, then you can approach the spiritual battle with no fear.

APPLICATION: Use a concordance and look up the promises of God recorded in the Bible. As you learn of each one your fears will decrease and your confidence will grow.

Categories: Devotionals | Tags: , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

