Passion to Write

157

 

“There are different kinds of gifts, but the same Spirit. There are different kinds of service, but the same Lord. There are different kinds of working, but the same God works all of them in all men.”   I Corinthians 12:4-6

Thank goodness God made each of us to be different. Imagine how boring things would be if we were all identical. Instead God gave each individual a unique combination of gifts, talents, and passions. Some of these are obvious. For example, my sister and my daughter have the gift of hospitality. They enjoy having people come to their homes for dinners and parties. I loath planning things like that and become very nervous if people are coming to my house.

Sometimes we don’t realize we have certain gifts or passions until later in life. That’s the way it was for me and writing. My father was a journalist and author. My son had two poems published. A few years ago I began wondering if the “writing gene” had skipped me. I decided to do some exploring and discovered I have a passion for writing. This passion has continued to grow over the years.

God didn’t just give me the passion and, like magic, I’m an author. I needed to take this new-found enthusiasm and develop it into a craft. It took me quite a while to figure out my writing niche. I tried writing in various genres. I read books on writing, I attended one or two writers’ conferences annually. I sought out a critique group to join. (I continue to read, attend conferences, and twice a month I meet with the group.) Finally God led me to what He wanted me to write – devotionals.

Are you filled with a passion to write? What are you doing about it? God gave you that passion for a reason. You might think you don’t have the talent to write. In the beginning I questioned my ability. If the passion to write is strong in you, you’ll be able to develop the talent. It’s not necessarily an easy road. It will take work and commitment to cultivate, but it’s worth it.

No matter if you are just discovering your passion or you’re a seasoned author you will need to continue studying the craft and receiving support from other writers. You will never stop growing your ability nor discontinue gathering knowledge on the art of writing.

And we are not alone. God gave us this passion. He is not going to say, “OK, I gave you the longing to write. Now you’re on your own.” Instead He is going to be with us every step of the way providing the motivation, courage, and stamina to pursue this passion. God wouldn’t have put the excitement to write in us if He didn’t want us to use it with His help and blessing.

We are not going to write in the same genre. As God gives people different gifts He’s given us desire to write about different things. Yet there is only one God and Spirit walking us through the process.

Now is the time to grab hold of your unique passion. Develop it. Use it. If you are faithful in using what God has given you He will be faithful and open doors for your writing to grow and reach others.

Dear Lord, Lift the anxiety I’m feeling about acknowledging my excitement for writing. Give me the courage to step out in faith and pursue this new path. Lead me to other writers for support and encouragement. Help me use this passion for Your glory.   Amen

Categories: Devotionals | Tags: , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Passion to Write

  1. Your message came at the perfect time. I share your compassion for writing and desire to pause in my journey to discern the direction God desires for me. Evaluate where I am and listen to where I should go.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

