The Beginning and The End

clock-8“I am the Alpha and the Omega,” says the Lord God, “who is, and who was, and who is to come, the Almighty.”    Revelation 1:8

Sometimes I wish I knew what the future will bring. Will I be able to move to the area where I want to live? Will I be able to afford to retire in three years or will I have to keep working? Will the US recover and turn back to God?

There are some things I don’t want to know, such as, when I’m going to die. I want to enjoy each day for what it is and not be on a specific countdown. I want to focus on life, my family, and my dreams. Death will come, that’s certain, but I don’t want to dwell on that.

The Alpha and the Omega, the first and last letters of the Greek alphabet, the beginning and the end. The Lord existed before Creation and He will exist long after this earth is gone. It’s difficult to comprehend that concept. Humans are restricted by time constraints. We began when we were born and we’ll end (in bodily form) when we die. Yet God knew before anything existed when each of us would be born and when we’ll die.

I find comfort in knowing that the Lord I worship is never going away. I also love the fact that through Jesus Christ I have eternal life with Him when my physical body no longer roams this earth.

All things are under God’s control. He determines the beginning and end of our lives. He IS the beginning and the end. If the whole universe disappeared today God would still exist. How awesome is that!

And how mind-blowing is it that this almighty, everlasting God cares about you and me. Knowing that God has always and will always exist, why would anybody put their faith and trust in anyone or anything else?

The Lord is the beginning and the end. Nothing happens on the earth or in this universe without His knowledge and control. Whether you are a believer or not, God has a hand in your life. You exist because it was His will that you would exist.

“I am the Alpha and the Omega”, says the Lord God. Because He is the one who gave you life, don’t you want to get to know Him better? He’s not going away.

Dear Lord, You are the beginning and the end of all things. You are everlasting. It was through Your will that I am alive. Open my mind and heart to know You. Lead me to people and resources so I can begin (or continue) the journey of knowing You.    In Jesus’ Name,  Amen

Categories: Devotionals | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

