Yet I Will Rejoice

IM000067.JPGThough the fig tree does not bud and there are no grapes on the vines, though the olive crop fails and the fields produce no food, though there are no sheep in the pen and no cattle in the stalls, yet I will rejoice in the Lord, I will be joyful in God my Savior.    Habakkuk 3:17-18

Though I received another rejection for my article, though I can’t find an agent, though the editor says I have a lot of rewriting to do, though I’m having a tough time getting my thoughts down on paper, though the publisher is not interested in my book proposal, YET I will rejoice in the Lord.

Being a writer definitely has its negative side. Fear of rejection, actual rejections, writer’s block are experienced by all writers. We cannot avoid these things happening. Yet, the passion to write is still strong. God puts these negative aspects in our lives to build character, stamina, and courage to keep going. He wants us to write, but He also wants us to grow while on the journey. Don’t dwell on the negative. Learn from it.

Rejoice that God has given you the ability to write, Rejoice that there is a potential publisher who will love your writing. Rejoice in the act of writing, itself. Rejoice in the new insights you gain or the memories you retrieve as you write. Rejoice that God has given you another day to experience His glory.

Focus on the positives of being a writer. Let the joy of writing engulf you. Then no matter what happens you will be able to say, “Yet, I will rejoice.”

Dear Almighty God, It can be so discouraging to receive one rejection after another. Please help me to keep my focus on the positives of being a writer. Let me continue to experience joy in this passion You have given me. Most importantly, don’t let me forget to rejoice in You. In Jesus’ Name, Amen

Categories: Devotionals | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

