A Friend Forever

file0001602209938[1]“Greater love has no one than this, that he lay down his life for his friends. You are my friends if you do what I command. I no longer call you servants, because a servant does not know his master’s business. Instead I have called you friends, for everything that I learned from my Father I have made known to you.”     John 15:13-15  (these are the words of Jesus)

Do you have a life-long friend? Maybe it is someone from your neighborhood when you were growing up or a friendship that began in school and is still going strong. This special person is someone you can tell your secrets to. You know he/she will always stand by you and be there if you need them.

What about putting your life on the line for a friend? We see this happening in war where a soldier will risk his life running into the battle to save a fellow soldier who is down. Another example is when a person donates a kidney to someone else. That person has no clue if their remaining kidney will stay healthy, but they don’t care.

We may not all have friends who are that close to us here on earth, but there is someone who was willing to die for us. In fact, he did suffer a very painful death so we could live. That person is Jesus Christ. He was willing to be crucified on a cross and pay the price for our sins so we won’t have to.

“For the wages of sin is death, but the gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord.”    Romans 6:23

If we accept Christ as our Savior believing He died for us and then conquered death by rising again He will call us friends. Imagine being friends with Jesus Christ. He longs to have that relationship with each of us. We can be assured of a friend who will do anything for us, even die in our place.

Are you friends with Jesus? He is a friend forever.

 

Dear Jesus, I want to experience a growing friendship with You. I ask You to enter my heart and my life as Lord and Savior. I believe You paid the ultimate price for my sin and then rose again to freely give me eternal life. Thank you.     Amen

Categories: Devotionals | Tags: , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

