Mercy

IM000342.JPG“But because of His great love for us, God, who is rich in mercy, made us alive with Christ even when we were dead in transgressions – it is by grace you have been saved.”  Ephesians 2:4-5

Recently at work I messed up, I missed a key point of information when setting things up for a client. As soon as I realized it I notified my boss. She could have easily gotten upset and reprimanded me, and she would’ve been right in doing so. Instead she said, “We have a tough job and we are not always going to catch everything. We just do the best we can.” She showed me mercy.

On a much larger scale God has shown us mercy. We are sinners. There is no getting around that fact. No matter how had we try we will never be perfect. Even though we know how God wants us to live we are going to mess up. We are not immune to temptations and we will sin. Based on our actions we have no way of being accepted into heaven.

However, God is not the angry boss who says, “You blew it. Too bad for you. You’re out!” Instead God is merciful and says, “Keep trying to do your best. I have provided a way for you.”

That way is Jesus Christ. Everyone of us deserve punishment for our sinful lives. We don’t deserve eternal life. Yet Jesus was willing to bear the punishment for us by suffering and dying on the cross. This action was God’s grace and mercy being freely given to us. All we have to do is believe in what Jesus did for us and accept God’s gift of eternal life through the resurrection of Jesus from the dead.

What are we to do in response? We cannot earn our way into heaven, but we can live our lives the best way possible as demonstration of our love to God for what He gave us. We will sin from time to time, however, we have a loving God, who is full of mercy, to turn to. We confess our sins to Him, ask for His forgiveness, and then try our best not to repeat the sin. In His loving mercy God hears us, loves us, and will help us along the way.

Have you experienced God’s mercy and grace? He is waiting for you to open your heart to Him and accept His gift through Jesus Christ.

 

Dear Merciful God, I am a sinner and there is no reason You should listen to me. I come before You on bended knee confessing my sin and asking for Your forgiveness. I don’t deserve Your mercy, but I believe in the promise of eternal life You freely give through Your Son, Jesus. Please accept my confession and help me turn away from my sin. Thank you for Your mercy, grace and love.    In Jesus’ Name,  Amen.

Categories: Devotionals | Tags: , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

