Peace In Times of Pain

IM000700.JPG“Now may the Lord of peace himself give you peace at all times and in every way. The Lord be with all of you.”   2 Thessalonians 3:16

After being married for almost 15 years I suddenly became single again. Several years later, once my children were grown, I found myself wanting to find another man to become a part of my life. I spent way too much money on dating sites with no success, not even a nibble. In my frustration and longing I turned to God. “Lord, is there someone out there for me? If so, where will I find him?” God answered me immediately and it was not the answer I expected. Through my mind this is what I heard God say, “Jesus is the only man you need.”

That one statement, which I heard loud and clear, changed everything. I began feeling a peace come over me. I didn’t have to fret and struggle about finding a mate. Jesus, himself, was going to fill the void I had in my heart. I realized at that moment I didn’t physically need a male presence in my life. I had Jesus.

Believe me, I’m no saint. That twinge of wanting a man in my life still hits me once in a while. It would be so nice to have that special man take me out for dinner, go on trips with me, share life with me. I do get tired of being the single person in a room full of couples. Then I remember the voice I heard from God and none of that matters anymore.

Are you going through a struggle in your life right now and feel there’s no peace in sight? There is a peace you can experience. The situation itself my never go away, but Jesus can provide the peace you need to deal with it. Open your heart and soul to Him. Tell Him what you’re feeling and ask for Him help. You might not hear a voice immediately like I did, but Jesus will answer you. He may bring someone into your life to assist you. He might lead you in a whole new direction you never thought of. There are hundreds of ways Jesus can bring peace if you let Him.

Are you ready now to open yourself up to the peace only Jesus can give and let Him take control? Your life will change forever. “And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.”   Philippians 4:7

Dear Jesus, I am struggling today and I don’t see any way out. I feel so all alone, I am crying out to You, Lord. Please lead me in the direction I am to travel  and let me feel Your peace in my life.    In Your Precious Name,   Amen

Categories: Devotionals | Tags: , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Peace In Times of Pain

  1. Beautifully written. And so true!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

