Do Our Best

IM000067.JPG“Do your best to present yourself to God as one approved, a workman who does not need to be ashamed and who correctly handles the word of truth.”    2 Timothy 2:15

These words were given by Paul to Timothy. They’re given to all Christians, We should be doing our best in all aspects of our lives. However, in today’s society there are times Christians are not presenting the right example and those actions would not be approved by God.

This verse should be heeded by Christian writers as well. No matter in which genre we write we should be writing our best so that our words will be approved by God and we are expressing the Truth appropriately. Are the words we write something we can be proud of or would we feel ashamed before God?

Christian writers have an obligation to stay true to God’s word and His leading. He expects us to write our best and not be embarrassed in how we present God to others. We are instruments of God to help get His word out to the world.

People may forget what is spoken, but once those words are in print they’re not so easily forgotten. How do we want our writing to be remembered?

From now on, every time we write, remember Paul’s words to Timothy. We need to look at what we’ve written and ask ourselves the following questions:

1. Did I do my best?

2. Would God approve of what I’ve written?

3. Is there anything I’ve written I’m ashamed of?

4. Did I handle God’s truth correctly in my writing?

Dear Lord, Please oversee my writing. Guide my hand and my thoughts as I write. May my written words by the message You want me to present.   In Jesus’ Name, Amen

Categories: Devotionals for Writers | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

