Which Way Should I Go?

IM000061.JPG“After Paul had seen the vision, we got ready at once to leave for Macedonia, concluding that God had called us to preach the gospel to them.”  Acts 16:10

When you read the verses (6-9) previous to today’s verse you’ll see that Paul traveled to different regions, but the Holy Spirit kept him from preaching in the providence of Asia and wouldn’t allow him to enter other places. Then Paul had a vision and he knew where he was to go.

Daily we face decisions, some minor like what we’ll wear to work, and some major like what college to attend or choosing the person to marry. We choose a way we want to go but obstacles keep popping up, preventing us from going in that direction. Finally, as we narrow down the options, we are directed toward the right decision. We hear that soft voice or get that feeling in the pit of our stomachs and we just know what or what not to do. That’s the Holy Spirit guiding us.

Are you just starting on your writing journey and trying to figure out in which genre you are to write? You try writing articles, but you find you are not excited about interviewing people and doing the kind of research that’s needed. You attempt to write devotionals, but things are not clicking. You find the writing is more drudgery than fun.

You start to write a novel, thinking to yourself there’s money to be had in writing novels. You observe people in your writers’ group who are working on novels and you think you should be doing that too. However, again you hit a brick wall and say to yourself, “I’m not enjoying this at all.”

Then an idea for a short story comes to your mind and you can’t wait to get the words down on paper. The story excites you and practically writes itself. The characters appear to be developing themselves right in front of your eyes. You have found your niche.

Through the whole process of finding our individual niche the Holy Spirit is guiding us. God knows what He wants us to write. Sometimes it takes us a while to get the message.

Trust the process. Forget what your mind’s worldly thoughts are telling you about what you should write. Go with your heart, regardless what benefits the world will or will not bring. Your joy, your reward, will come through the writing if you are writing from the heart what God has led you to write. Let the Holy Spirit be your guide, just as He was for Paul, and you will write in the perfect genre for you, chosen by God.

Dear Lord, I know You want me to write, but I am struggling to figure out what I should write. I ask for the leading of Your Holy Spirit as I go through the process of determining in which genre I am to write. Please make Your will known to me where my writing is concerned. I ask this in Jesus’ Name, Amen.

Categories: Devotionals for Writers | Tags: , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Which Way Should I Go?

  1. Hi Lorraine,
    I know that particular sign very well so you can’t live far from me! I didn’t meet you last night but know you’re in the WM WW. You took the words right out of my mouth with this post! I can’t express it, but that is EXactly where I am with my writing. Trying to keep giving it to The Lord- His way- His timing!! Thanks for this!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

