Be Courageous

IM000377.JPG“Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be terrified; do not be discouraged, for the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go.”   Joshua 1:9

Moses had died. Joshua was now the leader over the Israelites. They were at the brink of entering the land God promised to them. However, other people occupied those cities and battles would be fought. God told Joshua, “Be strong and courageous. . . your God will be with you.”

As we live our everyday lives we face battles which can sometimes create a strain on what we believe and know is right. Satan puts thoughts in our heads causing us to doubt decisions we make.

Writers are plagued with thoughts of insecurity, doubts, and fears. “My writing isn’t good enough.” “Why would anybody want to read what I write?”

God’s encouraging words to Joshua are encouragement to writers as well. We need to be courageous and write what we know God wants us to write. God gives us the ideas, however He is not going to put those ideas onto the paper. That’s our job and God will not abandon us as we do this work.

The devil likes to mess with our minds. Don’t let him. God told Joshua, “Do not be terrified; do not be discouraged.” He’s telling us the same thing. God would not have given us the passion to write without also giving us the strength and power to defy Satan in the process.

Be courageous. Keep writing. Don’t let the evil one convince you that your writing isn’t important. There is someone somewhere who is waiting to read what you write. God is preparing the way. Heed His command and continue on your journey.

Dear Lord who is over all things, Erase these fears and doubts from my mind. Please be my constant reminder that my writing matters to someone, even if that someone is only me. Instill in me the courage to continue my writing journey to the fulfillment of Your plan for me. In Jesus’ Name, Amen.

Categories: Devotionals for Writers | Tags: , , , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Be Courageous

  1. trotter387

    The power of the written word has long been under estimated, I read something written in the third century AD about Christian faith in action – the pen person may not have considered their words to be anything more than a personal journal but like the Diary of Anne Frank it provided an insight into the courage, faith and strength of the Christians in his time when being persecuted by the Roman Empire.

    Writing for self or others still expresses the thoughts in a way that no other medium achieves – echo the point keep writing and keep searching for truth.

  2. I wanted to read this!! I love that verse, it’s one of my favorites and have to cling to it often. I have worked through many fears in the last few years, but satan wants to put them back into my mind. I pray against it all the time. Thank you for your devotional.
    Myrna

    • I know it is so difficult to ignore those doubts that Satan puts in our minds. Thank you for reading my devotional. I hope it provided encouragement for you. God is not going to desert us.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

