Answer The Call

DSC_7051“Then I heard the voice of the Lord saying, ‘Whom shall I send? And who will go for us?’ And I said, ‘Here am I. Send me!'”   Isaiah 6:8

There is a modern Christian song which tells of a man angry at all the evil in the world. He shakes his fist at God and says, “Why don’t You do something?” God’s rely is, “I did. I created you.”

God uses people to carry out His work. He calls out to mankind to answer His call just like He did to Isaiah. The Lord waits for a response and Isaiah answers, “Here am I. Send me!”

Are people so willing to be attuned to the call and then to answer in the affirmative? Missionaries do it all the time. However, how many has God called to do mission work who responded, “No way. Not me.” ? And they walk away.

For some people the call is to spread the word through writing. I wonder how many hear this call and let their fear and insecurity stand in the way of taking on the job?

Those of us who are writing for the Lord have answered His call and are doing something about it. We are writing for Him. When I received the call I was one of those people filled with fear and insecurity. It’s been several years, but I am so glad for the support I’ve had to keep writing. The joy I experience now when I’m writing only confirms that I’m doing what God called me to do.

Christian writers – keep up the good work. Answer God’s call and continue to spread the Word in print. However, don’t forget that part of that call is also to encourage others to do the same. God wants every writer He calls to answer, “Here am I. Send me.”

Categories: Devotionals for Writers | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

