Will You Open The Door?

DSCN8455“Here I am! I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears My voice and opens the door, I will come in and eat with him and he with Me.”    Revelation 3:20

I am really showing my age here, but some of you might be able to relate to this. When I was a child there was the Fuller Brush Man. (Some of you are smiling because you remember). He was a door-to-door salesman. Whenever my mother saw him coming down the street we would hide, making sure we were away from the windows. When he knocked on the door we’d be very quiet so he’d think no one was home. Mom did not want to open the door to him.

A couple years ago someone knocked on my door at 3:30 in the morning. I wasn’t going to open my door at that hour without knowing who it was so I called out, “Who is it?”. It turned out to be an officer from the Sheriff’s Department. There’d been a break in next door and she wanted to know if I had heard anything. When I knew who was knocking I chose to open my door.

Jesus tells us that He is knocking at our door – the door of our heart and soul. He won’t come crashing in. He waits patiently. He is not going to enter without our permission. He knocks again, still waiting for a response. Do you open the door or do you run and hide?

Maybe you’ve chosen to keep the door closed at this time. Jesus is not discouraged. He will try again to get you to open that door even if it’s only a crack. He wants everyone, including you, to invite Him in so He can share the glory of His salvation.

Jesus has a marvelous free gift of His grace, mercy, and love to give to you. However, He can’t give it unless you open the door to receive it. You must make the decision. Will you ignore His knocking or will you open the door of your heart to all He has to offer?

The time is now. Do you hear Him knocking?

Categories: Devotionals | Tags: , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

