What Is The Primary Reward For Writing?

IM000729.JPG“Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for men, since you know that you will receive an inheritance from the Lord, as a reward. It is the Lord Christ you are serving.”    Colossians 3:23-24

When I was hit with the passion to write the first thing that popped into my head was, “I wonder if I can make some money doing this?”  I never thought of making a career out of writing. I just wanted to have a little supplemental income for when I retire from my full-time job. (And that still may happen someday, but it’s no longer the main reason I keep writing).

I’ve had a devotional published in a magazine and I wrote five devotionals for a prayer guide at my church. I have this blog and my facebook page (Devotions By Lorraine) which goes out to Twitter, LinkedIn and godinterest (the Christian version of pinterest). None of these have resulted in a monetary payment. Yet I have found that if I ever receive money for my writing that would be an added bonus. The primary reward I’m receiving now is the number of people I’m reaching for God and the joy I get from writing.

It’s exciting each time I post something to get a notification that somebody new is following me on one of the social media sites. I receive comments occasionally from people I don’t know telling me that what I wrote touched them in some way. A couple times I received comments from Satanists which opened a door for further evangelism.

When I write I am writing with all my heart. I know now, which I didn’t know when I began this journey, that God is using me as a messenger. It is very humbling to know that God chose me to do this. As long as I remember that, I will remember I am serving Him and not writing for material gain.

If you are filled with the passion to be a Christian writer know that God chose you to do what you’re doing. He hand-picked you to reach a particular group of people based on what you feel led to write about.

I’m not saying there’s anything wrong with getting paid for our writing. I’m saying don’t let money be the reason you write. Write to the glory of God, serving Him in whatever direction He leads you. Keep that focus and you will receive rewards from the Lord you never dreamed of.

Categories: Devotionals for Writers, Writing Experiences | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

