When Was The Last Time You Were Hit Between The Eyes By God?

blue_contact_by_claimyourself-d7sdd8qAs Christian writers we were called by God to spread His Word and values through our writing. This is an enormous task. I don’t know about you but there are many days I just don’t feel like writing. I know I should be writing. That’s what God expects me to do, however at times I don’t want to. Either I’m lazy (or rebellious) or I can’t think of a single things to write about.

During those episodes I need an attitude adjustment. I need someone to kick me in the pants and say, “Snap out of it!” There is a verse that did that for me today:

“Never be lacking in zeal, but keep your spiritual fervor, serving the Lord.”    Romans 12:11

Pow! God hit me right between the eyes with this verse. I looked up alternative words for zeal and fervor – “enthusiasm, fire, intensity, passion, devotion, eagerness”. Those two little words – zeal and fervor – pack a wallop.

Now that God has re-awakened the passion in me to write I need to try my hardest not to let it diminish again. Also, I don’t want writing to become a chore, something I have to do. I want to feel the zeal and fervor so writing is something I want to do. I need to be open to God’s leading as to what I should write. Then I must do it.

Being hit between the eyes by God is only the beginning. The support of other Christian writers is also so important in this process. Being a member of a writers’ group and attending writers’ conferences are needed to help us stay on the path God has laid out for us. Other writers can assist in keeping the zeal and fervor alive.

We all need an attitude adjustment from time to time. Has God hit you between the eyes recently? Please share your experience whether it was with your writing or something else in your life. I’d love to hear from you.

Categories: Devotionals for Writers | Tags: , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “When Was The Last Time You Were Hit Between The Eyes By God?

  1. boy, ain’t this the truth? I have the same problem. I KNOW that God has called me for this but sometimes I will go for days without a single word. Then, suddenly, a light goes on and I start pounding the keys. So, I don’t let the short lapses bother me anymore because I know God will give it to me when He wants it. Really good article, thanks. Keep up the good work and May God bless you. Remember, each day is a blessing. J C Corcoran

    • Thank you so much for sharing. It is difficult being a writer called by God to write His message for others to read. We just have to rely on Him for guidance, strength, and determination. Don’t give up. L. Baldus

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

