Worry, Worry, Worry – What Good Does It Do?

Lake MI 1In two years I will be the age to retire with “full” Social Security. The problem is the amount of money I’ll be getting is around half what I’m bringing home now through work. I will be able to add about $200 from my 403b each month, but that still is not the take-home pay I’m used to.

I worry about needing to down-size. I worry about how much rent will I be able to afford. On top of that add on insurance premiums, utilities, groceries, etc. It is getting more difficult for me to deal with yard work and snow shoveling so I need to go someplace where someone else does those things.  But will I have enough money to make the move?  Will I have to still work at least part-time to make ends meet?

Worry, Worry,Worry

“Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.”    Philippians 4:6-7

The Apostle Paul is telling us we are not to worry. Instead we are to bring those worries to God. What does worrying get us anyway?

“Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to his life?”    Matthew 6:27   (words spoken by Jesus)

Worrying gives us nothing but stress, headaches, and ulcers. None of us need those things.

What we need to do is put those worries into God’s hands. Then we should concentrate on what we can do today. None of us have a clue what will happen tomorrow or in two years. For me that means I can work on decreasing my bills and spending, and I can start weeding through my stuff, getting rid of what I don’t need or haven’t used in years. One day at a time.

What is causing you anxiety? Have you brought it to God? Begin with Him, then do what you can each day trusting that He will give you peace regarding the rest.

Worry and anxiety vs Peace from God.  What sounds right to you?

Categories: Devotionals | Tags: , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Worry, Worry, Worry – What Good Does It Do?

  1. worry does nothing for us besides make us ill. As my pastor says 80% of the things we worry about never takes place. We need to put our energy into other things.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

