Is Worldly or Heavenly Wisdom The Inspiration For Your Writing?

IM000062.JPG

IM000062.JPG

When I began writing I did it with the selfish ambition of wondering how much money I might be able to obtain. Realistically I knew I’d never be a Jerry Jenkins or Beth Moore, but I harbored some envy toward what they’ve accomplished. I thought it would be wonderful to have at least a couple books do well or have magazines want my short stories.

“But if you harbor bitter envy and selfish ambition in your hearts, do not boast about it or deny the truth. Such “wisdom” does not come down from heaven but is earthly, unspiritual, of the devil. For where you have envy and selfish ambition, there you find disorder and every evil practice.”    James 3:14-16

I needed an attitude adjustment. After a few years of struggling with rejections and not being satisfied with my writing God changed everything. The light bulb came on and I understood what God wanted me to write. My whole thought process switched gears. I began writing devotionals.

“But the wisdom that comes from heaven is first of all pure; the peace-loving, considerate, submissive, full of mercy and good fruit, impartial and sincere.”     James 3:17

What a change came over me! I began experiencing satisfaction with what I wrote and the writing process became joyful. Also, doors opened for my writing. I started a blog. Then I was asked to do the devotional every Thursday for The Writing Show. I had a devotional published in Halo Magazine, my church requested five devotionals for a prayer guide, and I was invited to be the speaker at a woman’s retreat held at my former church.

I received no monetary rewards from any of these opportunities, but I gained so much more. Writing is fun. But, most importantly, I’m reaching people with the Word of God as evidenced by new followers almost weekly on Twitter and Linked In. I set up an author page on facebook (Devotions by Lorraine) and I’m beginning to get followers there as well. I’ve even had Satanists write comments which opened up new doors to witness by responding back to them.

When we listen to God’s leading the wisdom we receive is pure and sincere. From it good fruits grow. All envy and selfish ambition fly out the window. We are able to focus on our writing because we know God is in control and His way is best.

Examine your writing life. Are you enjoying what you’re doing? Is the wisdom you’re following from earth or from heaven? There is a big difference between the two.

Categories: Devotionals for Writers | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

