Bees and Salvation

BeesWhile washing my hair I heard the kids yelling outside. That was not unusual so I continued what I was doing. Then the yelling progressed to screaming and I knew something was wrong. I wrapped a towel around my head and rushed outside. The sight horrified me. My son had whacked a beehive with a long branch. Underneath stood my daughter literally covered with bees. I pulled the towel off my head and began using it to get the bees off of her. I wasn’t worried about getting stung. My whole attention was to save my daughter. I saw her in trouble and didn’t care what pain it might cause me. I had to save her.

God looked down and saw that mankind was in trouble. Our sinful nature was leading us to death. Something had to be done.

“For God did not appoint us to suffer wrath but to receive salvation through our Lord Jesus Christ. He died for us so that, whether we are awake or asleep, we may live together with Him.”   I Thessalonians 5:9-10

Jesus suffered on the cross and gave His life willingly so we would not have to feel the wrath of God. We were dying in our sins. Jesus died instead, therefore giving us life eternal. He jumped in to save us without dwelling on what that action would cost Him.

As parents we protect our children no matter what happens. We’ll do everything in our power to save them regardless of the consequence to us. We make sacrifices so they can have a good life.

Jesus made the ultimate sacrifice for us. He suffered torment and death to save us. The result – He rose again and we are given the opportunity to accept the gift of life He freely gives. He saved us.

Have you accepted this gift of salvation from Jesus Christ? Have you experienced being lifted out of the trouble and utter helplessness sin causes? Now is the time to open your heart to Jesus and let Him save you.

(The result of our bee experience – I ended up with at least three bee stings, which I didn’t feel until later. We couldn’t tell if my daughter was stung. She survived with no physical or emotional affects.)

Categories: Devotionals | Tags: , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

