I’m Asking For Suggestions

As you can see, this is not my usual devotional blog. I am starting a new venture with my writing. For a couple years I’ve had the idea in my head for a novel. I have decided that 2016 is the year I will seriously begin the process. I have my main characters picked out, named, and know what they look like. I have maps and books about the location of my story. I’ve interviewed someone who has been to the location many times for some feel of the local flavor. I also got a flight plan to the location from a travel agent.

I’ve written the blurb that would go on the back cover giving a brief description of the book (just enough to entice the curiosity of potential readers).  Rough drafts of a few scenes are done.

I now have to read the books and study the maps so my story will be believable, but I would also like to begin writing as I go along. At this point it seems like an impossible task. I have no clue how the story is going to flow.

In reading books on writing I know you are just to start writing and the story will begin to take shape. What I would like to know from those of you who have written novels is: do you just start writing by the seat of your pants; do you outline or set up a story board; do you write significant scenes and then work on the in between stuff to tie it all together? Any and all suggestions/ideas will be helpful since I am a novice at this.

I am excited to begin this journey. I’m a member of a great critique group who I know will give me support and help me improve the writing as I go along. I am also very nervous. Those negative thoughts keep popping into my head saying this is a waste of time. It will never be published. However, how do I know it will never be published if I don’t try? Deep down I know I am supposed to write this book otherwise the urging I have inside about it would not be so strong.

So today is Day One of this adventure. Please comment with any insight you can give me. Periodically I will give updates on how the process is going. Thank you in advance for your support.

Categories: Writing Experiences | Tags: , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “I’m Asking For Suggestions

  1. Noreen Ophoff

    You can do it. Your critique group won’t just critique, we’ll encourage you too.

  2. In some ways I’m a “pants-er”. I don’t make huge outlines, but I make what I call a scene list. I break it down by days of the week and what needs to happen first. I don’t designate a Theme, either, since I feel that rapidly becomes preachy. My stories tend to have a fairly large cast of characters and subplots. Yours might not be as complicated. I don’t write individual scenes first.

    I’ve needed to change the beginning of my story a few times, because editors have considered the pace too slow, but someone is interested, and I’ll be resubmitting eventually. For instance, don’t start with your main character in kindergarten. Everything that happened to them at that point in their lives is important to YOU, but not so obviously to the reader.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

