Research and More Research

WIM000762.JPGhy in the world did I decide to use a real location for my story? A fictitious place would be so much easier to write about. Oh well, I need an actual site for the plot I’m developing so I must make the most of it.

I am finding that the more research I do, the more I have to keep doing. Not only do I need to describe streets, buildings, scenic views as they really are, I need to know customs, what to wear, what to eat, what should a woman traveling alone watch out for.  The list goes on.

I feel like the road is closed right now. I just want to write my story. However, I know if I don’t pay attention to accurate details my credibility goes right down the tubes. No wonder it takes so long to write a book. I know a lot of research is needed for non-fiction writing. I never realized the amount needed for fiction as well.Therefore I’ll keep studying street maps, looking at pictures online so I can write detailed descriptions, reading guide books, etc. I need to do the construction work to get the road open to write.

Of course, I want to write the best novel I can and if it means I need to spend hours doing research I’ll do it. I do have to admit that I can’t wait until I can get into the meat of writing the story again, but for now I have to bite the bullet and get the research done.

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

