What My Novel Is About

I have written the Prologue and first five chapters of my novel titled From Dream To Nightmare. Here is the Prologue. Please read it and let me know what you think. Does it leave you wanting to read more?

 

The door closes. There’s no turning back.

“What am I doing on this plane? Have I completely lost my mind?”  As Laurel Martin settles into her seat on a plane bound for Amsterdam, these and other doubts flood her mind. Embarking on an adventure of a lifetime, Laurel wonders if it is such a good idea. But it’s too late now to change her plans.

The approach of a distinguished-looking gentleman taking the seat next to her interrupts her thoughts. He smiles. She smiles back. As the video plays demonstrating the various safety items, Laurel searches the pocket of the seat in front of her for “the bag” in case she needs it. The FASTEN SEATBELT sign flashes and the plane begins its journey to the runway for take-off. Laurel takes a deep breath and grabs the arms of her seat.

The gentleman notices the signs of anxiety. “Is this your first time on a plane?

Laurel fakes a slight laugh. “It’s not my first time on a plane, but it is my first time on such a long flight, alone, to somewhere I’ve never been before.”

“By the way, I’m Steve.”

“I’m Laurel. Nice to meet you.”

“You’ll love Amsterdam. I’ve been there several times. Maybe I could show you around or, at least, give you some suggestions of things to see.”

“Thank you,” says Laurel, “but Amsterdam is just a layover for me. My final destination is Niarobi, Kenya.”

As the plane takes off and sets its course, Steve and Laurel enter into conversation. She tells him she is a recently retired U.S. History teacher who has traveled frequently throughout the States.

“Now that I’m no longer teaching I decided to go somewhere more adventurous. I’ve always dreamed of going on an African safari. I’m making that dream a reality. I hope I don’t regret this decision.”

“It sounds quite exciting to me,” says Steve. “I’ve traveled to many parts of the world, but never to Africa.”

The gentle hum of the plane engine and the pleasant conversation with Steve have a calming effect on Laurel. She releases her grip on the arms and her breathing becomes more natural. She and Steve enjoy the meal served to them about an hour into the flight, then prepare to watch the movie. It is a comedy which does wonders for easing Laurel’s tension. The rest of the trip to Amsterdam is relaxing, mostly due to Steve’s presence.

The eight-hour flight goes by too quickly. Steve and Laurel disembark from the plane, chatting the entire time as they walk through the terminal.

“Best of luck to you on your adventure. I’m sure it will be filled with all sorts of memories for you,” Steve says as he gives Laurel’s hand a little squeeze.

Laurel responds with a smile and a squeeze back. “Thank you for being a stable force for me on this part of my journey.”

Steve goes toward the baggage claim and Laurel heads to the gate for her final fight to Kenya. Both turn toward each other at the same time, smile, and wave good-bye.

 

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

